What are the Chakra's and what do they do?

What are the Chakra's and what do they do?

Have you ever practiced yoga, meditation or just watched online videos about chakras? 

You've no doubt heard about chakras and their role in the flow of energy in our body.

You may have also heard that it’s important to keep your chakras open, or unblocked.

Maybe someone’s even suggested that you should work on a specific chakra but you have no idea what they are? Don't worry, you're not alone.

So what are these chakras and how do they impact our physical and emotional well-being?

What are chakras?

Chakra in Sanskrit means “wheel” that refers to the spiritual energy points within the body.

These are a part of the subtle body - a part of you that you can’t see or touch.

They are placed in the astral body, along the spine, starting from its base, running upwards through the neck to the crown of the head.

Chakras radiate a specific color, energy and relate to specific emotional, spiritual, psychological, and physical aspects of our being.

According to yoga tradition, it is said that chakras radiate subtle energy that helps our mind, intellect and organs to function at their best level. 

To function at their best, the chakras need to stay balanced or open. 

If the chakras are blocked or unbalanced, one may suffer physical or emotional symptoms linked to a particular chakra.

Take a look at some life factors that can block our chakras:

  • Anxiety
  • Fear
  • Work stress
  • Low self-esteem
  • Financial turmoil
  • Sexual oppression
  • Suppressed anger
  • Illness
  • Stubbornness
  • Tunnel Vision
  • Denial
  • Grief
  • Heartbreak
  • Resentment
  • Rejection

The balancing of these chakras is believed to lead to good health and well-being.  

There are seven main chakras that carry a specific meaning and color.

In this article, we will walk you through the significance of all them, their colors, and the health areas these chakras tend to influence.

What are the 7 main chakras?

Root Chakra

The root chakra is found at the pelvic floor, which translates as ‘root’ and ‘support’. This chakra governs breathing, eating, sleeping, and experiencing physical security. It keeps us grounded and controls instinctual urges such as sleep, food, sex, or survival.

Color: Red

Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area

Meaning: Physical identity, stability, grounding

Element: Earth

Sound: Lam

Crystals: Hematite, Black Onyx and Smoky Quartz

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Feeling ungrounded, unsafe, fear, anxiety, lack, and the I don’t have enough mindset. Upset potential digestive.

Yoga pose for it's activation: Warrior I



Sacral Chakra

Also known as ‘the place of the self’, this chakra is held in our sacrum. It's all about creativity, fertility, fluidity, reproductivity, sexuality as well as creativity and self-worth. It tends to impact our ability to be vibrant, happy, positive, satisfied, compassionate, and intuitive.  

Color: Orange

Location: Lower abdomen, just below the navel

Meaning: Sexuality, Pleasure, Creativity

Element: Water

Sound: Yam

Crystals: Tiger's Eye, Orange Calcite and Citrine

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Little to no creativity or sex drive. Feeling zapped. Potential urinary or hormonal disturbances.

Yoga pose for it's activation: Bound Angle Pose



Solar plexus chakra

Also known as the ‘Warrior Chakra’ is found between the ribcage and the navel. It is the center of self-esteem and emotions like anger, ego, and aggression. It gives us the confidence we need to navigate our lives with strength and determination.

Color: Yellow

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area

Meaning: Self-esteem, confidence

Element: Fire

Sound: Ram

Crystals: Amber, Tiger’s Eye and Sunstone

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Feeling frustrated and insecure. Low self-esteem and personal power. Potential stomach tightness and nausea.

Yoga pose for it's activation: Boat Pose


Heart chakra

On a spiritual level, the heart chakra is the seat of balance. As the name implies, this chakra is in the center of the chest that has the capacity to radiate feelings of love, peace, attachment, trust, passion, compassion, and kindness. 

Color: Green

Location: Center of chest

Meaning: Love, compassion

Element: Air

Sound: Yam

Crystals: Rose Quartz and Aventurine

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Feeling hurt, lonely, grief, heartbreak, dejected, and lack of compassion. Potential chest pain, heaviness and heart-burn.

Yoga pose for it's activation: Camel Pose



Throat chakra

The throat chakra is the energetic home of speech, hearing, expression, communication, and confidence that helps you to quite literally speak up. It is tied to the endocrine glands that control metabolism and inner thoughts to be spoken in a positive manner. 

Color: Blue

Location: Throat

Meaning: Communication

Element: Ether

Sound: Ham

Crystals: Aquamarine and Sodalite

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Little to no self-expression and fear of speaking up. Telling lies, Potential sore throat and stiff neck.

Yoga pose for it's activation: Fish Pose



Third eye chakra

The third eye chakra opens you up to expanded states of consciousness. This chakra allows you to go beyond the 5 senses and the materialistic world. It controls intellect, intuition, wisdom, and spiritual power and sixth sense. It stimulates the functioning of the rest of the chakras.

Color: Indigo

Location: (also known as the Brow Chakra) Located in the forehead between the eyes

Meaning: Intuition, imagination

Element: Light

Sound: OM

Crystals: Amethyst, Fluorite and Lolite 

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Being narrow-minded, stubborn and denial from spirituality. Lacks inner intuitive guidance and Potential headaches.

Yoga pose for it's activation: Child Pose



Crown chakra

The final chakra also known as the “thousand petal lotus” chakra connects to beauty itself and the spiritual realm. This chakra links us to the divine energy and with our highest self. It is believed to help us feel enlightened, acquire self-mastery, and find a sense of connection with everything.

Color: Violet/White

Location: The very top of the head

Meaning: Awareness, intelligence

Element: Divine Consciousness

Sound: OM

Crystals: Clear quartz, Amethyst and Moonstone

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Experiencing ‘the human condition’. No connection to the spiritual world or ‘God’.

Yoga pose for it's activation: Headstand

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published